On The Fourth Day Of Christmas Blogging…

write

I found a post reflecting on blogging and remember how I said I was changing things up earlier this year.

I brought my own blog from Blogger very early last year, after stumbling on a few neat WordPress ones that various internet denizens I know started. It had been a New Year’s resolution to change mine up that year somehow, and I did! One of the most memorable quotes from ETERNAL’s post is:

The bottom line is that as bloggers gain more experience and the act of writing about anime becomes less exotic, many of us search for ways to experience fandom from a different perspective and discover something new.

This is unbelievable true. I ended up starting a second blog early this year (Going In Blindly), and it’s given me a different perspective on anime in general. Taking apart anime episode-by-episode is HARD, and time-consuming. I don’t know how the weekly bloggers do it!

At the same time, a few months ago I determined that I’d change things up a bit more by creating editorials. I’d never written one for my own blog before. In many ways, this is more difficult than just blogging episodically, because this means I have to sit down and really reflect on various anime-  and manga-related topics, and make it interesting for people to read. Even worse is when you try to do something unique! It takes a lot of creative juices to get one of these going, and doing them has expanded my little viewpoint on anime a lot.

Again, not particularly Christmas-y. But it does have a lot to do with my own resolution for the new year with this blog, and that’s something special.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Cajun Samurai
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:06:49

    “Taking apart anime episode-by-episode is HARD, and time-consuming.”

    You can freaking say that again! I’m doing an episodic breakdown of “Usagi Drop”, and it feels like it’s never going to end! I thought it was going to be a simple walk in the park…how wrong I was! But I have to admit, the end result is rewarding…especially when you look back at it. It’s gotta be a real special show for me to do another Breakdown like this one again!

    Reply

    • sweetpea616
      Dec 18, 2012 @ 18:20:15

      I know what you mean. I’m editing and re-editing my post roll on Going In Blindly simply because doing those breakdowns is miserable – I mean, right now, I’m in the middle of Story of Saiunkoku, and it’s the worst thing ever since there simply isn’t that much to say on each episode! I think I might drop it and switch to Maruwaru Pengiundrum, because that’s filled with so much *more*. From what I understand of it, at least, and going off of my experience with Revolutionary Girl Utena.

      Reply

    • soaringwings
      Dec 21, 2012 @ 16:59:39

      Yeah, I bow down to episodic anime bloggers too. I never could do it either. My compromise is volume-by-volume for manga. Less intense and 1 volume has more to talk about than 1 chapter. I usually only talk about specific episodes that bother me. That’s the only time I’ll ever go out of my way to talk about a particular episode. But then my blog is pretty random. I’ll talk about pretty much whatever I’m playing/watching/reading at the time. ^__^

      Reply

  2. rocklobsterjwt
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 18:07:32

    I do weekly anime posts, but I’ve never considered doing an episode by episode breakdown. Instead, I watch anime almost every single day, especially those long shows like Monster and Full Moon. That way I can get through things as quickly as possible.

    Reply

    • sweetpea616
      Dec 18, 2012 @ 18:21:16

      There are definitely some series I wouldn’t do that with – I wish I had taken time to really digest what was happening with Madoka, for instance, because those episodes were imbued with so much meaning and symbolism. Rushing through it is a terrible idea.

      Reply

  3. rocklobsterjwt
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 06:29:57

    Yeah, I’m already dreading February because that was when I planned to write it. I can already see I’m going to have to look at anime reviews to jog the memory a little. I’m never doing that again with a short anime.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

