Top 10 Opening Songs

10. Steins;Gate – “Hacking to the Gate” by Itou Kanoko

While this is my most recent song on my list, it really does create some great atmosphere for the series.

9. Urusi Yatsura – “Lum’s Love Song” by Matsutani Yuuko

It’s one of the most iconic anime ever, and this song is just adorable! I might not have seen this one yet, but with this OP I don’t think it will be anything but adorable!

8. Bokurano – “Uninstall” by Chiaki Ishikawa

‘Uninstall’ is one of the most intense ones that I’ve come across, and really does a great job of conveying what’s going to be happening in the show. I get pumped every time I listen to it.

7. Mushishi – “The Sore Feet Song”  by Ally Kerr

It’s lovely, it’s upbeat yet bittersweet, it’s really just a wonderful mood piece for the entire series and I don’t think that there is one that could fit better than this one.

6. Dennou Coil – “Prism” by Ayako Ikeda

It’s lovely chiming melody and almost triumphant tune really gets me going! It has a bit of a unique sound because of it, and I’m all for that.

5. Baccano! – “Guns ‘n Roses” by Paradise Lunch

Who can’t get that crazy jazz out of their heads?! And that frenetic pace really goes with the whole story, which changes at a moment’s notice and ties all these characters together in the same way.

4. Monster – “Grain” by Kuniaki Haishima

There’s an interesting mix of choral and rock here, and it ties into the themes of good and evil and where that fits into the world (if it fits) that Monster explores. It’s also just plain gorgeous!

3. Spice and Wolf – “Tabi no Tochū” by Natsumi Kiyoura

A song about travelling and romance in an anime about travelling and romance? What a perfect mix! And Natsumi has a fantastic voice, perfect for these kinds of folks-y songs, making it a fantastic listen.

2. Maria Watches Over Us – “Pastel Pure” by Mikiya Katakura

I am a sucker for classical music, and this wonderful piece is lovely. Since MariMite takes place in a Catholic school, it fits perfectly that they would choose a traditional musical piece for atmosphere, and it’s lovely floating tune really mimics the way life flows in the school. Definitely a fitting piece!

1. Aria: The Animation – “Undine” by Makino Yui

This also got a place on my list of Top 10 Ending Themes, and continues it’s winning streak here! Honestly, I find it physically impossible to be unhappy while listening to this. It’s gentle melody evokes peace and a touch of nostalgia in me, and makes it the one anime I would (have) bought the OST for.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Adam Wednesdays
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 20:20:32

    Some good choices! I haven’t watched a lot of these series so I hadn’t heard all of them before.

    Extra credit for the “Mushishi” opener. 🙂

    I’m never good at coming up with lists like this, but I know if I hunkered down and did make one, there would be a place for the opener from “Serial Experiments Lain.” Love that song.

    Reply

    • sweetpea616
      Sep 12, 2012 @ 22:07:06

      Glad you think it’s a good list! I have to admit, these lists are incredibly hard for me. It takes a lot of time judging and making decisions. A few I had to sleep on, but Mushishi’s place on it was a no-brainer 🙂 The SEL theme is pretty popular! You and a friend of mine are big fans 😀 I admit, that one nearly made it on, but personal preference was for a few others ahead of it ^.^”

      Reply

  2. TWWK
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 08:33:42

    I have NONE of those in my list…then again, I haven’t watched most of the series! You remind me that I’ve long been wanting to watch Dennou Coil.

    Btw, I also like “Duvet” from SEL – very unique OP song and one that I still listen to all the time.

    Reply

    • sweetpea616
      Sep 13, 2012 @ 10:26:49

      This does bring up an interesting question- what would you consider your Top 10? I’d expect that you’d have an entirely different list than me, since I’d bet you’ve seen anime I haven’t!

      Reply

      • TWWK
        Sep 13, 2012 @ 14:06:51

        Hmm…I’m not real sure. It’s hard for me to separate the songs from the video, so I normally think in terms of favorite OPs as a mix of the song and footage. But strictly song-wise, my list might be something like the following:

        10. (tie) Hemisphere (RahXephon)
        10. My Soul, Your Beats (Angel Beats)
        9. Tank (Cowboy Bebop)
        8. Bouken Desho Desho? (The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya)
        7. Cruel Angel’s Thesis (Neon Genesis Evangelion)
        6. Duvet (Serial Experiments Lain)
        5. Asterisk (Bleach)
        4. Kiseki no Umi (Record of Lodoss War)
        3. Pre-Parade (Toradora!)
        2. Staple Stable (Bakemonogatari)
        1. Irony (OreImo)

      • sweetpea616
        Sep 13, 2012 @ 15:00:49

        Aaaand… I was right about how many anime on your list I’ve seen! xD But the ones I recognize… very good choices. I definitely have to agree that the Angel Beats! OP is pretty good, even if I didn’t care for the series itself. And Pre-Parade is on my music playlist ^.^

    • The Cajun Samurai
      Sep 13, 2012 @ 18:23:30

      You…don’t have…”MUSHI-SHI” on your listing?! Dude, I would’ve thought you had hit “Mushi-shi” FIRST! You could have a spiritual field day on just the first episode ALONE!! Dude, even “The Sore Feet Song” has some spiritual conotations! I’m gonna need you to get on top of that ASAP!

      In any case, SweetPea, your pick for #1–AWESOME!!!

      Reply

      • TWWK
        Sep 13, 2012 @ 20:47:40

        It would probably help if I’ve seen that show. -_-‘

        I just couldn’t get past the first episode…nice, but too slow for me!

      • sweetpea616
        Sep 13, 2012 @ 22:24:26

        So glad that you approve of my #1! I forgot you’re as much of an Aria fan as I am! ^.^ I could not stop listening to it when I first heard it, and it’s still my favorite!

  3. soaringwings
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 11:21:42

    Your top 10 are all really great. I love them~ :3
    Bakurano’s lovely opening song is actually why I recently put it on my plan to watch list. And I agree, I love how Monster’s song is so dissonant with two contrary sounds. I haven’t seen Spice and Wolf, but I think I’m going to add it to my plan to watch list after hearing that lovely opening. 🙂

    Reply

    • sweetpea616
      Sep 13, 2012 @ 15:13:45

      Aw! I’m really glad you like them 😀

      Admittedly, I love all these OP songs, but Bokurano (esp Bokurano) is hard to watch because of the dark story it tells. It was breaking my heart, whch is why I’ve had it on-hold for a few years. I have plans to finish it soon now that I’m more okay with that sort of story.

      And if you’re up for one of the most awesome romances out there, then I’m glad you’re putting Spice and Wolf onto your list! xD Admittedly, I’m a bit biased for these OPs, since a good many are from my favorite series. But that song definitely deserves a spot and is fantastic.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

