The Blogger Interrogation Game

This is the first post I honestly have no idea how to categorize 😀 I don’t do editorials on my blog – not because I don’t want to, or I don’t think my blog is up for it, but because it’s a new territory I am unsure of adding on and where it would fit – so this is a new one on me! You can read my challenger’s own interrogation on his blog Beneath the Tangles. But I won’t back down from a challenge like this, and hope you guys have as much fun reading this as I did answering it!

Introduction

  • Each person is supposed to follow the rule of fives. You are allowed to ask 5 questions, after which you can tag up to 5 bloggers by hyper-linking to their blog; 5 questions because it’s not too many to flood another blogger and occupy too much of his/her time, but yet a large enough number to ask your most important questions, and 5 bloggers to avoid spamming. Hence, prioritize your questions, and who you wish to ask!
  • Those tagged are obliged to answer the questions in a blog post, and after which, they are entitled to create their own 5 questions and tag 5 other bloggers, so on and so fourth. You should answer your own 5 questions as well. You are allowed to tag the person that tagged you in the first place. Also, copy and paste this section on your blog so others can understand how the game goes.
  • In the case where a blogger strongly refuses to answer a question, he/she must instead post a nice anime image, wallpaper or cosplay picture, et cetera in response to that question.
  • To make things interesting, a blogger can include wildcards in his/her 5 questions by placing an asterisk, (*), after which those tagged are obliged to reveal something interesting about themselves that others did not previously know. There is no limit to the number of asterisks one can place (which means there can be up to 5 wildcard questions).
  • Anyone can feel free to start the game; you don’t necessarily need someone to tag you. Just create your 5 questions and tag your 5 people of choice. However, the catch is that you must answer your own 5 questions as well.
  • To potentially prevent an endless game, this round of games will end on the 8th September 2012, 12pm JST (GMT +9). After which, no more bloggers can tag others to answer their questions.

What I was asked:

  1. What was the last anime that made you think…”WOW”?

– Over this last week I finished Neon Genesis Evangelion. It was an astonding anime that exceeded my (admittedly nonexistant) expectations for it. I knew I would either love it or hate it; what I didn’t expect was the sheer amount of layers of symbolism and themes that wove together to create a story that really made me feel for the characters and be fascinated by what was going on. It was a fantastic thig!

2. Has any anime changed the way you feel about a particular topic or issue?

– It made me feel better about approaching shows and stories aimed at children. Starting with Card Captor Sakura, I realized that these shows could have real depth and be genuinely entertaining. That was an eye-opening revelation, since the only reason I had rewatched CCS was for nostalgia’s sake (I’d originally seen the Nelvana dub on Saturday morning TV, and adored it then. I wanted to see if it was as good as I remembered). Now, I go out of my way to watch and review children’s anime since I don’t think there’s enough good kids’ shows in the US.

3. Do you consider yourself spiritual or religious?  Both?  Neither?  And why?

– Spiritual. I am not a hardcore practicioner, though I do have belief in God (the Gods), and an afterlife. I just don’t give my spiritual life and needs any priority, which I really should remedy at some point.

4. What’s been your favorite series/movie you’ve watched this year (anime or otherwise)?

– Black Lagoon. I’ve cut down a lot on watching anime and other shows, which narrows down the field quite a bit. The only show that really sticks out – and not just because it’s the most recent one I’ve seen – is Black Lagoon. I don’t do action shows, but Black Lagoon really managed to mak thoroughly engaging characters and without making the girls purely sex objects. That makes it very unique and very appealing.

5. If you were given the resources to create an anime series, what kind of show would it be?  What would the story be about?*

– I think I’d love to adapt Naomi Novik’s Temeraire series. It’s a fantastic fantasy/historical series, all about injecting dragons into world history, specifically the Napoleonic Wars. There’s awesome battles, fantastic characters, world travel, and DRAGONS. It’s begging for an adaptation!

What I Will Ask

1. If you were on a deserted island with an anime/manga character, who would it be?

2. Do you consider any anime/manga characters to be role models? Who and why?

3. What is your favorite genre of anime, and why?

4. Do you prefer real DVDs or digital/streaming?

5. What anime have you seen that’s most outside of your usual tastes? Did you like it?

My Answers To My Questions

1. As I know few characters capable of surviving in those situations, I’d have to go with Akari from Aria. Why? Because she’s so nice and sweet that even as we starved to death she’d find something wonderful about life. And it would be a beautiful, bittersweet moment.

2. Akari again. I’m not terribly good with people – I tend to be blunt and honest, and say things at the wrong time, which really is not a good trait – and wish I could be more upbeat and pleasant about life. Whenever I think about her, I’m inspired to try harder. It doesn’t always work, but I still feel good about trying.

3. Horror. To paraphrase a great quote on it I once had but can’t find, horror is about ghosts. Not real ones, but the ones of our past that we can’t escape. The things, people, and events that haunt us. Those are scarier than any ghoul they throw on the screen because we all have them, and good horror is the one that reminds us of our own ghosts.

4. Digital/streaming. While I enjoy DVDs to a certain extent, I’m not fond of how much room they take up… room I would much prefer to have for my manga collection! Most series I can watch streaming if they’re licensed, and don’t feel pressured to buy unseen. Or pressured to buy, since I rarely care about the DVD extras and find that I’m just putting them in my giant 120+ DVD cases, regardless. But mainly, it’s because I prefer manga, can’t exactly read most of it legally online if it’s licensed, and much prefer to have physical books when I’m reading, so the space priority is NOT on DVDs.

5. While I’m going to sound like a broken record here, Black Lagoon. See review for more details. And yes, I liked it.

Tag, You’re It!

Annalyn from Annalyn’s Thoughts

Sistergirl from Secret Anime Lovers

Rocklobster from Lobster Quadrille

The Cajun Samurai from The Cajun Samurai

Ty-chama from Watashi wa Bucho!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The Blogger Interrogation Game | Secret Anime Lovers
  2. Sistergirl
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 18:56:05

    Reply

  3. TWWK
    Sep 06, 2012 @ 08:29:40

    Thanks for answering! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Spirituality in the Anime Blogosphere: Fairy God Mother, Sinful Anime Characters, and Religion in Haibane Renmei and Kids on the Slope «

Leave a Reply

